Skip to main content

Research, Teaching and Service

Our faculty members are active in the areas of research, teaching, and service. Among the highlights from the past academic year include:


Dr. Alan Goodboy was named the Peggy Rardin McConnell Research Chair in Communication Studies.

Dr. Matthew Martin penned an essay reflecting on long-term WVU department chair James C. McCroskey. This essay appeared in Communication Research Reports. Read the essay here:

Dr. Christy Rittenour was a collaborator with faculty and students in Social Work, English, History, and Library Sciences as part of a Humanities Center Grant on Scott's Run Memory Project. The residents she met through this project selected and then narrated archived photographs of the community, illuminating family and community life in this famous mining town in the years preceding, including, and concluding the Great Depression.

Dr. Liesel Sharabi received a Humanities Council Grant for her project titled “Exploring the Interconnections between Online Dating, Technology Use, and Marriage.”

Ryan Thompson started a doctoral program in Leadership and Innovation.


Dr. Elizabeth Cohen served as a WVU Honors College Faculty Fellow during the 2018-2019 school year. She developed an honors course that used “Black Mirror,” the critically acclaimed Netflix show, to teach students about a variety of psychological and ethical issues related to new media and technology. 

Dr. Carrie Kennedy-Lightsey received the Excellence for Online Course Design award from the Center for Teaching and Learning at Stephen F. Austin State University, where she worked before coming to WVU in Fall 2019.

Nikki Loy was selected to attend WVU’s inaugural football team’s “Professor Day,” where she had dinner with several student athletes and learned more about how the WVU football staff is changing the way athletes view academics and how the staff is working with academic departments to improve student outcomes.

Dr. Brian Patterson presented a workshop on communication traits for the 2019 Teaching and Learning Commons. 

Dr. Daniel Totzkay received the 2018-2019 Michigan State University Excellence in Teaching Citation. He was one of only six graduate student instructors from across the university to receive this award.


Dr. Megan Dillow was elected to the National Communication Association's Leadership Development Committee.

Dr. Scott A. Myers finished his three-year term as editor of the Journal of Communication Pedagogy and was inducted into the Central States Communication Association’s Hall of Fame.

Sara Pitts was recognized as the Eberly College Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award for Communication Studies for 2018-2019.