Skip to main content

Communication Studies PhD Student Recognized

Abobo Kumbalonah recognized as Arlen G. and Louise Stone Swiger Fellow
"The Office of Graduate Education and Life celebrated new and returning graduate fellows at WVU during its annual Fellows Celebration on Thursday (Sept. 28). 

Richard Thomas, associate provost for graduate academic affairs; Jessica Queener, assistant provost for graduate education policy; and Betty Mei, program director, recognized 72 fellows on their esteemed fellowship awards, congratulating them on conducting groundbreaking research at the University. Thirty-two new fellows from across the country were also welcomed during the ceremony as they embark on their graduate studies.

Melissa Latimer, associate provost for faculty development and culture, and Jessica Deshler, assistant dean for graduate studies in the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, served as honored guests at the reception. Stephanie House-Niamke, SREB fellow and graduate student in sociology, also provided brief remarks on her experiences as a graduate fellow."

First year PhD student Abobo Kumbalonah was one of the 72 students recognized as an Arlen G. and Louise Stone Swiger Fellow.  This fellowship is designed to to recruit highly competitive Ph.D. students to WVU.

The Swiger Fellowship offers an annual stipend of $25,000, a waiver of University tuition, a College tuition scholarship, payment of University fees, and graduate student health insurance coverage. Awards provide up to three years of funding.
Abobo Kumbalonah
Congratulations to Abobo Kumbalonah!